Box Office

Seni Saraki Explains why the “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” event happened in Nigeria

The Story ⚡

“ I think the premiere is very intentional.

It was something Ryan (Coogler) wanted to do when he first came to Nigeria ”

Tell Me More

In an exclusive with Shock, Seni Saraki, co-producer for the “Black Panther” Wakanda Forever” soundtrack gave insights into the making of this black adventure film. He spoke on the intentionality the movie director Ryan Coogler and music producer Ludwig Göransson showed during the production process of the film, and pointed to the fact that Ryan Coogler wanted to have a premiere in Lagos. 

This project brought together a host of popular African music stars like Bloody Civilian, Burnaboy, Rema, Fireboy DML, Clay, Tems among others. On the idea behind bringing on these artists on this project and recording in Lagos, the co-producer said 

I think Ludwig and Ryan made this from their heart, I don’t think it was about marketing, I think it’s a creative move and it’s amazing that people also like the music. The fact that they (Lutvik and Ryan) flew down to Lagos and no one knew what was happening, the fact we actually did it in Lagos was amazing. “

On how to move the Nigerian film industry forward, Seni Saraki said

“The industry is a bit monopolized sometimes, I feel like the music industry is collaborative and the film industry can learn from that.  All the entertainment sectors work together in Nigeria to push the movement forward and there’s a lot we can learn.

He also mentioned that creatives need to continue putting out good music and good movies as the international market is already present on the continent looking for good content to invest in. 

Full List of “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” soundtrack

  • Funeral – Baaba Maal, 
  • Welcome Back – Baaba Maal, 
  • Anya Mmiri – CKay feat. PinkPantheress, 
  • Love & Loyalty (Believe) – DBN Gogo, Kamo Mphela, 
  • Young Stunna, and Busiswa, 
  • Can’t Stop – Red Hot Chili Peppers, 
  • La Vida – Snow Tha Product feat. E40, 
  • Limoncello – OG DAYV, 
  • They Want It But No – Tobe Nwigwe & Fat Nwigwe, 
  • Arboles Bajo El Mar – Vivir Quintana & Mare Advertencia , 
  • Con La Brisa – Foudeqush, 
  • Interlude – Stormzy, 
  • Alone – Burna Boy, 
  • Coming Back For You – Fireboy DML, 
  • Lift Me Up – Rihanna, 
  • Laayli’ Kuxa’ano’one – ADN MAYA: Pat Boy, Yaalen K’uj, All Mayan Winik


After the release of “Black Panther 1” there was a lot of backlash on the movie due to the lack of African artists on the movie’s official soundtrack. However, it looks like the production studio has course-corrected this error in “Black Panther:Wakanda Forever” with the release of a three-track EP featuring a collaboration with African artists, songwriters, producers and sound engineers. 

The “Africanisation” of the soundtrack of this black-themed action/adventure film complements the fact that the geographical inspiration for Wakanda is Africa.

Bringing on African creatives in this project is a way to boost the film’s box-office watch, it is anticipated that “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” will surpass the record sale of “Black Panther 1” 2018 release of N 818.11 million. 

In summary

All eyes will be interested to see how this sequel does at the domestic box office, considering the thoughts and strategy that went into the film.  “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” will be released on the big screens in Nigeria on November 11. 

Thank you for reading Covers the Business of Film/TV and the Biggest Creators in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Let’s be Friends on Instagram @shockng 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button