Afriff 2023ShockNG

Nse Ikpe-Etim, Ini Edo, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Femi Adebayo, And Others To Be Honoured With Outstanding Performance Award By AFRIFF

The Story ⚡

AFRIFF spotlights some Nollywood actors and actresses for honour for their outstanding roles in recent movies at the maiden edition of The AFRIFF Honour.

Tell Me More

Recently, the organizers of the largest film festival in Nigeria, the Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) announced that they will be honouring some Nollywood actors and actresses with outstanding performance awards. Among these actors and actresses are Nse Ikpe-Etim, Ini Edo, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Funke Akindele, Femi Adebayo, Chioma Chukwuma, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Tobi Bakre, Lateef Adedimeji, Chidi Mokeme, and Kunle Remi. The award will be at the AFRIFF Globe Awards Night.

This announcement was also contained in the news shared by the awardees on their Instagram pages. Ini Edo and Chidi Mokeme will be honoured for the roles they played in Shanty Town while Nse Ikpe-Etim will receive the award for her role in 4-4-44. Kunle Remi will be honoured for his role as Saro in Anikulapo, Richard Mofe-Damijo for his role as Paul Edima in The Black Book, and Femi Adebayo will get the award for Jagun Jagun produced by him. Lateef Adedimeji will also be honoured for the same movie where he played the role of Gbotija.

Chioma Chukwuma and Tobi Bakre will be honoured for their characters in Gangs of Lagos while Funke Akindele will get the awards for her character in Battle on Buka Street. Blossom Chukwujekwu is also being honoured for his role in The Trade.

Announcing on AFRIFF’s Instagram page, it says, “We are thrilled to extend our heartfelt congratulations to these remarkable actors and actresses that will be honoured at the #AFRIFFGlobeAwardsNight.

“The #AFRIFFHonors serve as a platform to recognize and celebrate the extraordinary talents and dedication of individuals who have significantly influenced the Nigerian and African film industry.

“These special awards are sponsored by MTN, and it exemplifies MTN’s commitment to supporting and fostering the growth of the film industry in Nigeria.

While reacting to the news on his Instagram page, Richard Mofe-Damijo wrote, “I am being honoured by AFRIFF at the 12th award ceremony for outstanding performance for my role in THE BLACK BOOK. The Black Book… The film that keeps giving! Thank you @afriff.”


Since the inception of AFRIFF, The AFRIFF Honours 2023 is the maiden edition of the awards, which is set to celebrate the outstanding performance of Nollywood actors and actresses.


The Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) is an annual film festival in Nigeria. Founded by Chioma Ude in 2010 with the first edition held in Port Harcourt, River State, Nigeria, the festival runs for a week. The event includes the exhibition of movies, both feature-length and short films, which cut across different genres. Submission of movies for exhibition at the festival usually cuts across different African countries.

The genres of movies exhibited at the festival include feature, documentary, short, animation, and student short. At the end of the event, a movie is announced as the best movie exhibited. Last year, Kofa, written and directed by Jude Idada, emerged as the best movie at the awards. Awards and prizes are also given to the best directors, actors, and screenwriters.

Aside from movie exhibitions, there are also seminars and panel sessions from industry experts who speak and answer questions related to the Nollywood film industry.

This year’s edition of the award, which is the 12th edition since it started, will be held between the 5th and 11th of November. It will hold in Lagos, Nigeria.

In Summary

With The AFRIFF Honours, the spotlight is shone more on Nollywood actors and actresses. The acting profession in Nigeria has never been more celebrated than now, and it is beautiful to watch as Nigerian actors and actresses are not only being recognized in the country but also internationally.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button