NOSC Late Night Vote Ends in a 9-6 “No Revoting” Decision

The Story ⚡

From “No Film is Eligible” to “No Revote”, the NOSC stamps down on a Nigerian film going to the Oscars.

Tell Me More

The NOSC witnessed a series of upsetting dramas between its first ballot and the second. From leaked press releases to leaked emails and members’ resignations, the most current being that of Kenneth Gyang, who, just like Shaibu Husseini, made his resignation on Twitter. 

Following the drama on the IFF Submission, the NOSC on Thursday 20 October 2022, at 9 PM held a “No Revote” stance, after its 2nd ballot.

You should recall that the committee refused to submit a title for the International Feature Film Oscars category on the 3rd of October, this was then followed by an uproar both within and outside the committee. As a result, the Academy awarding body gave the NOSC  a deadline extension for a revote.

The Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) members cast a vote to determine if the committee will move forward with this revote, unfortunately, the majority of the committee members took a “No Revote” decision. 

The final films that passed the three IFF criteria and got to this voting stage were “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman” by the late Biyi Bandele; Kunle Afolayan’s “Anikulapo” and Euphoria 360 (Femi Adebayo) and Anthills Studio’s (Niyi Akinmolayan) “Agesinkole (King of Thieves). 

Below is a breakdown of both the initial voting (No Film Is Eligible Vote) and the second ballot (No Revote):

First Ballot (No Film Is Eligible)

Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi – Null

Mahmood Ali-Balogun – “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman”

Mildred Okwo – Null

Ego Boyo – Null

Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde – Null

Stephanie Linus – Null 

Shaibu Husseini – “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman”

Bruce Ayotunde –  “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman”

Adetokunbo Odubawo – Anikulapo

Izu Ojukwu – Null

Moses Babatope – “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman”

Yibo Koko – Null

Meg Otanwa – Null 

Kenneth Gyang – “Elesin Oba: The King’s Horseman”

John Njamah – “Agesinkole (King of Thieves)”


Second Ballot ( No Revote)

Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi – No Revote

Mahmood Ali-Balogun – Revote

Mildred Okwo – Revote

Ego Boyo – Revote

Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde – No Revote

Stephanie Linus – No Revote

Shaibu Husseini – Revote

Bruce Ayonote –  No Revote

Adetokunbo Odubawo – No Revote

Izu Ojukwu – No Revote

Moses Babatope – Revote

Yibo Koko – No Revote

Meg Otanwa – No Revote

Kenneth Gyang – Revote

John Njamah – No Revote

In Summary

It is interesting to see that some members who voted for some films initially, opted for a “No Revote” in the second ballot, while some who voted “Null ” initially, opted for a “Revote” in the second ballot. 

Are the committee members being influenced by public or private opinions? What took place in this final voting session and what was actually considered? 

is this pattern a testimony to the quality of films submitted?

Or is this a result of public backlash? More importantly, is this NOSC chaos a pointer to internal conflict?

With resignations flying around, will the body be intact for the next submission? 


What Happens Next?

SHOCK is still observing.

Thank you for reading Covers the Business of Film/TV and the Biggest Creators in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Let’s be Friends on Instagram @shockng 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button